Blog For Mental Health 2013

I am taking a small break for my posts on the Legacy of Child Abuse to join those that Blog for Mental Health. As you know if you’ve read my blog, my wish is to not only help myself but to help others that are dealing with mental health issues, especially those that are effected with the aftereffects of child abuse.  It pleases me to be a part of Blog For Mental Health 2013. I was pledged by Bourbon – as for pledging 5 others I will leave that to my readers to make the choice for themselves.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

A short biography of my mental health and what it means to me:

I’ve been diagnosed with DDNOS (Dissociative Disorder not Otherwise Specified), MMD (Major Depressive Disorder), PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) and Agoraphobia with Anxiety Disorder.  Not only are my disorders an assortment of abbreviations that most people have no idea what they stand for, when you do actually spell it out for them the still have no idea what they are. You don’t know how many times I’ve heard “PTSD is what soldiers get, right? How can you have it? You’ve never been a soldier.” And there is little to no information on DDNOS. My goal with my blog is do change this – to change people’s preconceived ideas and to enlighten them; by doing that I hope to help not only myself but others, because right now without this blog, I feel helpless.

2 thoughts on “Blog For Mental Health 2013

  1. You are doing such a wonderful thing to help yourself by taking back even a small amount of control with this blog, sometimes that can make a great deal of difference. And it’s so important that you’re letting others who might be searching know they aren’t alone.

    Thank you for taking the time to take the pledge; I have added you to our blogroll and will be sharing your post. And I know you were kind and put in a link, but if any of your readers want to make certain they are included on the blogroll as well, they can find the information on the campaign in this post: Blog For Mental Health 2013 « A Canvas Of The Minds.

    Thank you again, and be well.

  2. I just took the pledge myself and I’m visiting my comrades who are blogging for mental health.

    I was diagnosed with Bipolar in 1995 and have had many ups and downs, but am now blessed to enjoy relative stability. Blogging really helps.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.

Leave a Reply

