Searching for That Elusive Happy Childhood Memory

Last week I was watching a TV show that’s plot had a pregnant woman who had been in a car accident in the first month of her pregnancy and had brain damage that made it impossible for her to retain new memories. All through the show the husband keep reminding the wife of the moment that they meet for the first time as a way to calm her down. As I was watching this, I keep thinking I don’t have that. I don’t that one memory that I prize so much that it will have a calming effect. Hell, I don’t have a memory that isn’t warped by something horrible happening. Then I got to thinking if I had an accident like that it would be horrible all I have is the memories of abuse.

So I have started a quest for that most precious thing in an abused child’s life … the elusive happy moments. I received the gift of Photoshop after my sister’s wedding and I have decided that my first project will be to scan, repair and download all our photo albums to DVD. I’m hoping in this trip down memory lane I can get in touch with my child. Right now I feel like I have lost that inner child. But that is a subject for another post. (Upcoming)

I’m not sure if this is going to bring more pain, some enlightenment or what but I feel compelled to do this. I’ll keep you posted on how it’s going.

Leave a Reply

