Not An Excuse…

I don’t know about the rest of you, by I hate when people say “He was abused as a child.” With this statement it is like you are excusing the abuse that was perpetrated by him, because he came from an abusive background. They rationalize that because he was abused, that he HAD TO in return abuse. That he had no choice in the matter. Let’s be truthful here, abuse does not take away your ability to tell the difference between right and wrong. By continuing the cycle of abuse you are choosing/allowing yourself to victimize another person. YOU DO THAT A CHOICE.

To me, that is like saying that because I was abused now I can get away with hurting another person. I don’t accept this and I don’t want to hear it as a reason to accept it from others. Whatever happened in one’s childhood, you are responsible for your adult acts; one’s past does not cause one to violently hurt another. Allowing yourself to hurt someone else is you actively making a behavioral choose to do so.

ABUSE DOES NOT GIVE YOU THE RIGHT TO ABUSE OTHERS.

One thought on “Not An Excuse…

  1. You couldn’t be more right!

    My mother used to do that with herself. Whatever she did too us, if you confront her with it today she’ll excuse herself with her childhood.

    I don’t get it. Pisses me off!

Leave a Reply

