Letter to My Doctor

I have decided that I need to write a letter to my doctor to take along with me to my appointment so that I can make myself heard. As I’ve posted before (click here to read), I have a deadly fear of doctor’s office. So far I have pretty much allowed my psychiatrist to basically make all the decision regarding my health. unfortunately he seems to be making all the wrong decision. After discussing this in therapy, I have come to the conclusion that we are going down the wrong path in trying to help my mental health. I’ve written this letter to my doctor in hopes that I can get him to agree with me.

Dr W,

I am having a hard time with expression my needs to you. Doctor’s office put me into a complete panic and every logical thought on my medical needs goes right out the window. I feel like a blithering idiot. Since I haven’t been able to stop my intense fear of doctors, I figured my best bet was to write down my needs and give them to you.

First of all I have been on 6 to 7 different medications for my depression and none of them have worked for me. I feel like all of them are putting me into a fog and I become unable to work on any of the issues that are causing the depression in the first place. I have spent the last 15 years ignoring my abuse issues with work and an active fantasy life. I no longer want to ignore these issues; I feel that it is time to work through them.

What I really need is something to help with the anxiety. I would like to be able to go outside or to church without being so panicky that I can’t function. I would like to be able to go to my sister’s wedding and not have to drink to make it through the night. I like to be able to sleep through the night without having a panic attack because I feel like someone is going to get me.

To me, controlling my anxiety is more important that controlling my depression. I feel that if I could get the anxiety under control then maybe I could do things that would help alleviate my depression.

So I am asking that we start working on my anxiety and leave the depression alone. The depression has only once gotten to the point where I wanted to harm myself and I believe that this was induce more by the medication I was taking then by my actually feeling.

your patient

RS

I would love to get some feed back on this. All I want is to be heard and my needs to be taken into consideration; I don’t want to make the doctor feel like I am trying to telling how to do his job.

One thought on “Letter to My Doctor

  1. Your letter looks great! Who cares if the doctor thinks you’re telling him what to do? You’re talking about yourself, not his medical practice at large. He’s just a person, a person who has been making the wrong decisions for your because he hasn’t fully understood your needs. It sounds like you’re taking control of your own care, which is a patient’s responsibility and you don’t sound pushy or mean in the letter.

Leave a Reply

