I Have The Right…

For so many years I have been told who I was, what I was supposed to feel, what I was supposed to do, who my friends could be, what I could and couldn’t talk about. I was not allowed to have control over my body, my mind, my spirituality, the people I wanted and more importantly the people I didn’t want in my life. I, as an individual, have certain rights; they are something that I need to read and be reminded of every day.

I have these rights:

I have the right to be treated with dignity, compassion and respect at all times.

I have the right to make my own decisions about the course of my life.

I have the right to have dreams- and to work toward making these dreams come true.

I have the right to feel good about myself as a person and a woman.

I have the right to choose who will be my friends, whom I will spend time with and whom I will confide in.

I have the right to make mistakes.

I have the right to change my mind.

I have the right to be happy.

I have the right to ask for what I want.

I have the right to follow my own values and standards.

I have the right to express all of my feelings, both positive and negative.

I have the right to say no and not feel guilty.

I have the right to determine my own priorities.

I have the right not to be responsible for others’ behavior, actions, feelings or problems.

I have the right to my own needs for personal space and time.

I have the right to be in a non-abusive environment.

I have the right to change and grow.

I have the right to have my needs and wants respected by others.

I have the right to be uniquely myself.

This list is very hard for me to read though and listen to. For someone who never had any of these rights, it is hard to change the mind set I was brought up in. To help me I am printing out this list so that I can carry it with me and read it when I need it.

The above list is from Healing the Trauma of Abuse – a women’s workbook
One thought on “I Have The Right…

  1. Hi Phoenix,

    This is a beautiful post. Thank you for sharing it…and I think printing it out and carrying it with you is a great idea.

    Trisha

Leave a Reply

