Healing Your Family’s History

The book for today is Healing Your Family History: 5 Steps to Break Free of Destructive Patterns by Rebecca Linder Hintze

Here are some of the questions the book talks about and my answers to them:

  • What do I want most in my life right now?

            I want to love myself. I want to find peace. I want to be able to have friends and a relationship with the opposite sex.

  • Do I feel my parents love themselves fully?

           no

  • Write one or more tradition I learned from my mother.

             I must hold on to all my money or it will go away. I don’t deserve to have what I want. I must give everything I have to others and keep nothing for myself. Those that don’t go to church are bad. If I go to  church I will be good enough. It is better to do everything myself, letting others do it is showing weakness. Women are less valuable than men and we should defer to them. Men can’t be trusted. I must keep my house clean or I’m not good enough. The needs of others are more important them my own. Love is hurtful.

  • Write one or more tradition I learned from my father.

             There is not enough in this universe. I must fight to get my portion. I must be attractive or I’m not good enough. I will always be taken advantage of in the world. Those that don’t go to church are bad. If I go to church I will be good enough. It is better to do everything myself, letting others do it is showing weakness.

Boy it is amazing what we get from our parents. I hope that with work I can get rid of some of these traditions/beliefs.

3 thoughts on “Healing Your Family’s History

  1. You write beautifully and honestly and I appreciate that! There is healing in speaking our truth and supporting others in doing the same. God bless you!

  2. absolutely informative post in this blog. Most what i read online is trash and copy paste but your posts are not alike. Bravo. I like to read and advise all my friend to read this blog. Thanks for share.

  3. Thank you everyone for commmenting on my blog. It makes me feel good to be about to express myself and to know that someone is listening. I’m finding this to be a great comfort for my inner-child who has spent so many years not being heard or told not to talk about this. I am trying to make this as real as I can, and also as helpful as I can so that others can learn from what I’m experiencing.
    Rose

Leave a Reply

