Inspiration – Part 2

I’ve been thinking a lot about yesterday’s post and an assignment I’ve been working on in my self-help book. For months now I have been trying to come up with a WOMAN – any woman, that inspires me, that I admire, and I haven’t been able to find anyone. Part of my abuse was ingraining the fact that women are not worth anything. That their only purpose for even being is to bear children and to care for the needs of the men in their life. The thought of a woman being more than that is hard for me. I know that there are women who are but the voice in my head (the one that is my abuser’s) keeps saying that they are unnatural – Women who want to be men.

Then today it hit me. There is one woman that I admire and that inspires me. She is a writer of fiction, her name is Nora Roberts. She has written a wonderful series about a woman that survived incest and went on to be a murder cop who stands for those who can’t stand for themselves. I was listening to her new book today and crying, because not only has she written about the horrible subject of father- daughter sexual abuse, but she’s written about flashback, repressed memories, the feeling of unworthiness  that go with abuse and so much more. She also gives a message of hope that with time, a good therapist and loving support you can get through anything. Plus her books are damn good mysteries, which I love.  So not only is she a role model who is strong enough to write about these issues but she also has given us a strong woman role model in her books.

For a complete list of Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb’s “in Death” series click here. Please be aware that her books may have content that is Triggering so only read them when you are in a good space.

Leave a Reply

